Posted on

Last Tuesday

Here is an extremely rough recording I made with my computer’s microphone while my roommates were asleep this morning. There are harmonies I didn’t do so I’ll probably rerecord this in higher quality, but I kind of like the simplicity and strange quality to it. Suppose I’ll just let it speak for itself.

And an amazingly powerful quote from our friend:

“If I am to be an artist at all, it will be on my own terms, because I know of no other means of becoming myself. I would not trust the images of one whose every moment was a compromise with life, whose work was not the fruit wrung from passion… Only upon actualizing my inner nature to the best of my ability, and distilling that nature into truer expressions, may I attain value in this world. My intellectual capability is but one aspect of my experience as an individual. I am not a person considered ‘practical’–and nor do I wish to be. What is of value in me is raw and abstract, translating into few languages of consequence to others. But there is that touch of the universal within me, as in everyone, and this is the source of hope that pulses under the skin of the moment. That I could share this heartbeat with everyone… I am not self-righteous, pretentious, or deluded enough to believe that the job of an artist is more important than any other. All I believe is that art is sometimes necessary to make life bearable, and to remind people in their loneliest moments, that others feel as deeply as they do, that we are all alone in this together, and should make it as beautiful for each other as it honestly can be… That I could share that heartbeat with everyone, to remind them of theirs.”

-M. Hisamoto

About newslangband

an Olympia-born psychedelic rock pop group known as New Slang

2 responses to “Last Tuesday

  1. Suki ⋅

    Thank you for this quote from Maia. She was an amazing being in this plane and will be.always a strong lifestream in whatever plane she exists.

  2. Suki ⋅

    Oh yea and awesome song Mr. Kirby.
    I like the recording – your voice in the early morning is beautiful and heartfelt.

Leave a Reply

